Outreachy Blog - Introducing myself!

Outreachy Blog - Introducing myself!

Hello everyone, Thanks for dropping by!

I am Janvi Bajoria, an Outreachy intern. I am a second-year engineering undergraduate student hailing from India. My interest usually lies in frontend development and contributing to open source.

I have been accepted as an Outreachy intern for May to August 2022 round. I'm interning for Firefox Project "Firefox Picture-in-Picture Improvements" under the guidance of my mentor kpatenio and Niklas Baumgardner. I am looking forward to having a great experience this summer.

You’d usually find me listening to music, watching series, or scrolling Twitter in my spare time. I am a music lover and play a ukulele instrument (not much good :p). Sometimes you can find me doing artwork and sketching.

Outreachy

or.png

What is Outreachy?

Outreachy provides three-month internships for people from groups traditionally underrepresented in tech. Interns are paid a stipend of $7,000. Both interns and mentors work remotely. This program is conducted twice a year. You can get more information about this program here.

How did I apply for it?

I got to know about Outreachy from my brother who is a software engineer. Again, I heard about it from my seniors during college events. Ever since I came to know about Outreachy, I wanted to participate in it.

Last year I applied for Outreachy, unfortunately, my initial application couldn't get accepted due to time commitments. I looked for organizations that matches my skill. I selected two organizations to contribute to. Mozilla Firefox was my first priority as it is such a huge software and contributing to it is an achievement in itself. This year, even before the applications started, I started contributing to the project and asking relevant doubts on their community channel. I found everyone to be quite welcoming and helpful. I loved the whole community and how everyone helps each other. This was my first time contributing to such a huge software Mozilla Firefox. I was just trying to give my best without thinking about the end results. I submitted my final proposal before the deadline.

Finally, on 20th May 2022, the results were announced, and Tadaa 🎉 I was selected as an intern. I was on top of the moon. I would like to thank the whole community and my mentors kpatenio and Niklas for being so supportive every time.

My core values are:

  • Curiosity - I value curiosity, the desire to learn or know about what interests me drives me to achieve my goal.
  • Growth - I think investing a considerable amount of time and energy in one's personal development is needed for one's growth.
  • Compassion - I value compassion, it drives our commitment to serve others with empathy and respect.

Thanks for reading! You can connect with me on Twitter or reach out to me via email for any help. :)

#WomenWhoTech

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Janvi Bajoria by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!